Turkey Pasole

I have been taunted by the beautiful bag of Rancho Gordo hominy (available online or at Marlow and Daughters in BK) sitting in my pantry, knowing the sooner I use it the better it would be. Go to the Rancho Gordo sight for directions on preparing hominy and roasting peppers. On that note go there for practically anything involving Mexican food from scratch.

My conflict being Pasole and Menudo are  possibly two of my favorite Mexican dishes. Well, the smell of trip alone illuminates the potential of that ever being in my apt. Then there is pasole, there are a million ways to make it. I love green pasole (no meat), pork pasole, turkey posole, etc. Since I could not find tomatillos at the market I went with a posole/turkey chili hybrid. The results were not disppointing, I ate mine with some fresh cilantro and warm tortillas. I wouldn’t mind some cornbread either. Honestly, if I had the traditional garnishes for menudo I would definitely opt for them.

Turkey Pasole

1 lb Rancho Gordo white corn posole/ hominy or 2 cans
1 1/2 lbs ground turkey
1 beer
1 large can tomatoes
3 chipotles in adobo (plus 2 T of adobo)
2 roasted pablanos
2 roasted jalepenos
1 onion diced
3 cloves minced
2 T chili powder
1 1/2 T Mexican oregano
6 c chicken broth
salt and pepper

Optional Garnish
shredded cabbage
julienned radish
avocado
cilantro
lime
tortillas
Saute onion, add ground turkey and garlic, and brown. Add chili powder, chipotles and adobo, and oregano. Add beer, simmer for a couple of minutes. Add tomatoes and crush with hands. Add roasted peppers, salt, pepper, and broth. Simmer for 15 minutes. Add prepared hominy. Simmer another few minutes.

Leave a Reply

